RSS Feed

Brown Sugar Scrub- Simply Amazing!

Posted on

I came across a Brown Sugar Scrub “recipe” on The Idea Room and decided I would give it a shot.   In the past, I haven’t made them in fear of not liking it and wasting all that olive oil.

It’s a good thing I tried it…I love it!!

Here’s the “Recipe”:

1 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons honey

Now, it’s not the prettiest thing, but the results are amazing! It makes my skin feel so soft!

I put the scrub in a mason jar since that is what I had on hand, but you could easily find a cuter jar and bottle this for friends for Christmas gifts.  Any girl who likes to spoil herself a little would love this because it’s a mini spa treatment.

The brown sugar definitely exfoliates, and the oil and honey hydrates your skin.

When writing this post, I wanted to learn more about why olive oil and honey are so great for your skin.  I found a lot of really interesting information from a lot of different website.  They were all summed up on the “Skin Care” section of Wikipedia.  Olive oil is known as a deep penetrating moisturizer that will actually soften your tissue.  One of the most interesting benefits of Olive Oil is a study that shows a “Protective effect of topically applied olive oil against photocarcinogenesis following UVB exposure of mice”.

Wow!  Who knew?!

Now on to honey…What does honey do for you?  Well, it’s pretty much just as amazing as the olive oil!  Honey is a natural source of anti-oxidants and anti-microbials!  Wow!  I’m LOVING this scrub more and more!  On top of that, honey is a moisturizer.

So, with all of the benefits of olive oil and honey for your skin along with the exfoliation of the brown sugar…no wonder this scrub makes my skin feel amazing!!

So, go for it!  Go make it and let me know what you think!

About Liz

Starting my new journey as a wifey! southtexaswifey.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

